Peanut Butter Raisin Bars

I hate nuts. It’s true, I have a really hard time eating them in whole form. And up until recently I refused to eat anything that had nuts in it. Peanut butter has always been an exception to that rule. At least for the last decade or so. I’ve been trying to expand my horizons a little bit and get past the texture that a bite into a nut offers. The Lemon Curd Bars and my mom’s Almond Chicken were big stepping stones for me. I didn’t need to force myself to try these bars though. Gluten and dairy free and free from added sugar, this quick treat will put a smile on the face of any kid, big or little.

INGREDIENTS
1 cup Peanut Butter – Natural – Smooth or chunky **SEE NOTES
1/4 cup + 1 tbsp Water
2 tbsp Honey or Agave
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 tbsp Sugar or Splenda or 1/8 tsp Stevia
1/2 cup Coconut – Shredded, Unsweetened
1/4 cup Hemp Hearts *Optional
1/2 cup Raisins
1 tbsp Chia Seeds *Optional
2 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Allspice
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Sea Salt
1/4 tsp Baking Soda

METHOD
– Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and spray a square baking pan with wheat free cooking spray.
– Combine the first six ingredients in a medium bowl. Mix with a hand mixer.
– Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and mix thoroughly with the hand mixer.
– Using a spatula, scrape the mixture into the baking pan, smooth evenly over the bottom and put in the oven (rack should be in the centre)
– Bake for 20 minutes and remove from heat. Let cool completely then put them in the fridge to set. They will totally fall apart if you eat them warm.

NOTES
– The original recipe calls for Almond Butter. I didn’t have any and I’m unemployed so I went with peanut butter. Use whatever you have on hand.
– The original recipe called for Chia Seed Meal which I also didn’t have so I used whole Chia Seeds. The result was perfect but these bars will still be awesome without the chia seeds altogether.
– I added a quarter cup of Hemp Hearts for fun, but if you don’t already have them on hand, no need to add them.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 12
Weight Watchers points per serving – 4
Calories – 172.1
Fat – 9.2g
Fibre – 2.6g
Sodium – 196.7mg
Carbohydrates – 16.1g
Protein – 5.8g

Leave a Reply

