Juice Pulp Muffins

Ok, so for some of you this might require some trust. Pulp doesn’t sound appetizing, I know. Bear with me though, because these muffins are fantastic. They’re dense but moist, sweet and flavorful but without all of the added heaviness of regular muffins. Part of the new meal plan I started in August included a three day juicing phase. I borrowed a coworker’s juicer then immediately turned around and got my own. I loved it so much! I kind of always knew I would and for years have wanted to try it but honestly, I couldn’t bring myself to swallow the cost of one. Luckily, we got this juicer using Mike’s credit card points, so that’s a total bonus and I’m infatuated with the damn machine. I love how little time it takes to make a juice in the morning. I prep everything the night before, maybe 5 minutes of effort, then juice enough for two daily juices. Of course, the recipes are absolutely endless but the only one I’ve discovered that I don’t like involves beets and lemon. Blech! Anyways, I had a hard time with the amount of waste juicing induces. I compost everything, but I thought there was surely a way to use the pulp – afterall, it’s only vegetables and fruit. I found so many awesome ways! Like muffins, soups, salad toppings, stir fries etc! So I set aside the pulp from a carrot, apple, ginger, spinach pulp and started scouring the internet. (The pulp is freezable) I came across a paleo recipe for carrot cake requiring shredded carrot and I went from there. I had to adapt it quite a bit then adapt it a few times but so far, this is the best one. I even burnt a batch and they still tasted great! They’re packed with fibre, protein, healthy fats and all that good veggie goodness. I was hesitant to post them here because the nutritional value looks a little daunting. But honestly, they’re all natural and everything you’re consuming has been minimally processed and has no added sugars, chemicals or preservatives. Basically, all of the ingredients are happily digestible by your body. So do it – I eat one for breakfast with my coffee and one for my afternoon snack. Use any combination of pulp that sounds good to you! I started you off with my favourite.

DSC_0624

INGREDIENTS
Pulp of:
*3 Carrots
*2 Apples – Deseeded
*Fresh Ginger
*1/2 cup of Fresh Spinach *Optional
4 tbsp Coconut Flour
4 Eggs
1 1/3 cup Natural Peanut Butter – Creamy
1 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tbsp Pure Vanilla or Vanilla Extract
6 tbsp Unpasteurized Honey or High-grade Maple Syrup
Pinch of Sea Salt
3 tbsp Coconut Oil – Melted
DSC_0628

METHOD
-Preheat oven to 350°F
-In medium bowl, combine all ingredients except the Coconut Oil. Mix ingredients thoroughly then add the melted coconut oil and mix again. The oil hardens with the cold ingredients so add it last.
-Spray a 12 cup muffin pan and drop the batter evenly into each cup. The batter should be just shy of the top on each.
-Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a fork comes out clean. Let cool completely before serving.

DSC_0626

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 12
Weight Watchers Points per serving – 8
Calories – 319.4
Fat – 21.2g
Fibre – 3.9g
Sodium – 209.4mg
Carbohydrates – 19.9g
Protein – 10.67g

Leave a Reply

