Coconut Cream Yogurt

Hi. I haven’t seen you guys in a while! It’s been a rough few months for me and I’m finally starting to get my stuff back together. My dad succumbed to cancer in July, somewhat unexpectedly so I took a month off of work to help mom sort things out. After that, I had no energy, too hot, too tired, too sad to focus on cooking and taking pictures and writing these posts up for you. At the beginning of August though, I hooked myself up with two personal trainers and I feel like my life is on a different track. A path that I could always see off in the distance but could never get to, one that I constantly thought about but could never pull the energy out of the depths for. So, I’ve been going to the gym. And I’ve been given a meal plan. And since August I’ve lost 16 pounds and in the last month I’ve lost 12.75 inches! It’s moments like this that I’m so grateful for this blog because if it weren’t for this and these recipes and all of the work I’ve put into learning how to cook healthy meals, a meal plan would be so much harder! My plan, for now, is gluten free and dairy free. I was already 90% there so I didn’t find this too difficult. This recipe helped me step over the roadblock I had with my homemade yogurt. My trainer was letting me still use the dairy yogurt but that’s all I was allowed to have. I wanted to eliminate it entirely and do the best that I can with this exercise ‘thing’. This recipe makes two servings so I have to make it more often but it takes less than 5 minutes to prep, a night in the oven and we’re done. It’s slightly more expensive but totally worth it as far as I’m concerned – I’m happy to have a sugar free, preservative free vegan yogurt for my morning snack. I’m still in love with the dairy yogurt though and hopefully I’ll be able to incorporate it back into my diet in small doses.


INGREDIENTS
-1 can pure Coconut Cream **SEE NOTES
-3 Probiotic capsules **SEE NOTES
-1 tsp or more to taste Raw Honey or Maple Syrup **Optional

METHOD
-In medium saucepan heat can of coconut cream until warm to the touch. It doesn’t take long to heat up, maybe 2 minutes, make sure you don’t let it get to simmer or it’ll burn. You might hear the bottom of the cream start to bubble.
-While cream is heating, empty contents of 3 probiotic capsules and honey if using, into a clean glass jar.

-Remove cream from heat and pour directly into jar. Stir, screw on lid of the jar and place in the oven, close to the light. Leave the light on for 10-12 hours.
-Remove jar from oven, gently stir and place directly into refrigerator to solidify.  The fat will rise to the top, stir again before serving.

NOTES
-I buy Savoy brand coconut cream. You can use the fat off the top of a can of coconut milk but you won’t get nearly as much yogurt. You need the fat to thicken the yogurt.
-I use Jamieson brand Probiotic capsules. They can be found at any pharmacy or health food store.
-Adding a sweetener is not necessary. It enhances the coconut flavor but that’s about it. The original recipe called for 1 tbsp. and I found that far too sweet.
-Nutritional info is calculated with 1 tsp Maple Syrup.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 2
Weight Watchers Points per serving – 2
Calories – 88.7
Fat – 5g
Fibre – 0g
Carbohydrates – 9.2g
Sodium – 30mg
Protein – 1g

One response

  1. Pingback: To Compare, Or Not To Compare | my life...for life

Leave a Reply

