Chicken Stock

So like I said in the last post, roasted chicken is a double hitter. Roast up your chicken with some spices, butter and veggies and after dinner, remove all of the meat from the bones and throw the carcass in a slow cooker with your roasted veggies (or fresh veggies if you used the roasted ones for dinner) and some water. I’ve done up this recipe with the assumption that you’ll use fresh veggies. You can use any veggies you want and can add any additional spices you want. I’m not sure how aware you are of the salt content of store bought stocks. Even the low-sodium versions are loaded with salt. It’s used as a preservative and I think it’s virtually unavoidable if you’re going to buy it. No judgement though, I have certainly bought my fair share of stocks but there is almost no sodium in this recipe – I didn’t add any more to the crockpot and it has a pure, delicious chicken flavor. This recipe is absolutely just as easy to make as it is to throw the carcass away so I highly recommend it! You can split it into freezable containers and keep it stored away for several months, or you can do what I did and make Garlic Parsley Risotto and Creamy Cheesey Polenta with it – a great hearty soup is also a solid option. It’s great to plan almost a week’s worth of recipes around one chicken, let me tell you!

Chicken Stock (3)


INGREDIENTS
1 carcass Roasted Chicken
Pan drippings from Roasted Chicken
3 Carrots – Roughly Chopped
3 stalks Celery – Roughly Chopped
2 Leeks – Cleaned and chopped, include tops
1 Onion – Quartered
2 Red Peppers – Chopped
1 tbsp Rosemary *Optional
6 cups Water

METHOD
– Add all ingredients to large crock pot. Cook on low 8 hours to infuse all the flavors. I left mine on for 18 hours only because I didn’t have time to strain it before going to work.
– Add more water if you notice the water level going down.
– When ready, ladle out the veggies for compost or garbage. Pour the liquid through a mesh strainer into a large bowl.
– Allow it to cool and put the bowl in the fridge. The fats will solidify and from here you can choose to take the excess fat off (I did) or leave it in while you separate and freeze or use in your next meal.

NOTES
– There’s really no shortage of adaptations you can make to this recipe. You can change the flavors to compliment whatever you’ll be using it for or you can leave it simple and adjust it later when you’re using it.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 6
**Like the roasted chicken itself, this is hard for me to gauge nutritional info on. I scraped off all of the hardened fats before I used it so the numbers I’m getting from the recipe builder are really skewed. Suffice it to say, it’s significantly healthier on all levels than store bought stocks.

Leave a Reply

