Rutabaga Honey Cake

Last year I received a rutabaga in my CSA box (Community Supported Agriculture) Rutabaga was certainly one of those vegetables that reminds my adult self how much my childhood self despised them. They’re kind of flavorless but have a distinct earthy, tangy smell when cooked. Distinct like celery, without smelling like celery. I wanted to use it in a way that wasn’t a stir-fry, boiling or basically just eating it. *ick* So a quick google search netted me a version of this recipe. It was already a gluten free recipe, so that was cool. I made it then promptly died and went to heaven. I haven’t made it since, though I often think about it. My last CSA box had a huge rutabaga in it. I could easily make 4 of these cakes, so I opted for doubling the recipe. I hate wasting food! I didn’t have brown rice flour on hand so I used gluten free all purpose and coconut flour instead. I think it made the rutabaga stand out a bit more and still tasted delicious. I’m pretty confident in saying you can probably use any flour you have available to you, inluding wheat flour, but keep in mind the density and textures will change with each flour variation.
Rutabaga Honey Cake (15)


INGREDIENTS
1 tbsp Flax Meal
3/4 cup Skim Milk or Non-Dairy Alternative
1 cup Brown Rice **SEE NOTES
1/2 cup Arrowroot or Tapioca Starch **SEE NOTES
1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum
2 tsp Ground Ginger
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1/4 cup Unsalted Butter or Coconut Oil – Melted
1/3 cup Honey or Agave Syrup
1 cup Rutabaga – Grated
1/2 cup Dried Apple – Chopped **SEE NOTES
2 tbsp Maple Syrup

Rutabaga Honey Cake (6)

METHOD
– Compile all of your ingredients close at hand and preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×9 pan and set aside.
– Whisk together flax meal and milk and set aside to soak.
– In medium bowl, whisk together flours, xanthan gum, ginger, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
– Beat together flax misture, butter and honey until smooth.
– Slowly add to flour and mix with hand mixer on low until fully combined.
– Fold in chopped apple and grated rutabaga.
– Bake for 30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. Remove from oven and flip out onto a wire rack to cool. Drizzle maple syrup over top and serve when cooled.

Rutabaga Honey Cake (8)

NOTES
– If you prefer to use wheat flour, use 1 1/2 cups of it and omit tapioca starch and xanthan gum.
– The dried apple slices should be the chewy, partially dehydrated kind. Not apple chips. The dehydrated apple pieces will reconstitute in the oven, leaving you with some tasty apple pieces in your cake.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 12
Weight Watchers points per serving – 4
Calories – 158.9
Fat – 4.6g
Fibre – 1.6g
Sodium – 207.4mg
Carbohydrates – 24.8g
Protein – 1.5g

Leave a Reply

