Japanese Pickled Cucumber Salad

I’ve been MIA for a while. I find myself incredibly lazy, uninspired and unmotivated to cook in the summer months. I don’t like the heat and I especially don’t like humidity. It has been one of the hottest summers on record in Vancouver. 3 straight months of 25-35 degrees with very little rain. 25 degrees isn’t bad in the Okanagan, where I’m from, but factor in the temperate rainforest and the 95% humidity kills me. I also live in a basement suite with no air conditioning so the stove and oven get turned on as little as possible. Now that I’m finished making excuses, I’d like to present you with a dish I came across today. I have no idea where I found it but the link to the original website is below. Super simple and healthy but with so many complex flavors. You also don’t need to turn on a burner. I whipped this salad up and while it was marinating I made up a quinoa fry with sweet red peppers, caramelized onions and Japanese turnips. Delicious and super light dinner for a stupidly hot day.

Japanese Cucumber Salad (7)

Original post found here

INGREDIENTS
1 Cucumber – Sliced in half lengthwise and then thinly sliced. **SEE NOTES
2 Scallions or Green Onions – Sliced
1/4 cup Rice Vinegar
2 tbsp Bragg’s or Tamari Sauce
1 tsp Sesame oil
1 tsp Sugar or Splenda
1 tsp Sambal Oelek Chili Paste
1 tbsp Roasted Black Sesame Seeds *Optional

Japanese Cucumber Salad (2)

METHOD
-In medium bowl, whisk together Vinegar, Soy Sauce, Sesame oil, Sugar and Sambal Oelek.
-Slice cucumber and scallions, add to marinade. Mix to ensure all cucumbers are coated and set aside to marinate for 15-20 minutes.
-Sprinkle sesame seeds over top and serve.

Japanese Cucumber Salad (4)

NOTES
-The original recipe calls for seedless cucumber but I just used a long english and it was perfect. This would be a great recipe for any garden excess you might have!

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 2
Calories – 54.6
Fat – 2g
Fibre – .9g
Sodium – 600.8mg
Carbohydrates – 9g
Protein – .9g

Leave a Reply

