Coconut Curry Squash

Ahhh curry. Love of my life. Long lost friend. I feel like curry and I have a lot of making up to do. I grew up in a small town with one restaurant that was only open on and off, depending on current ownership. The closest city was an hour away and even then it didn’t distinguish itself as a happenin’ place in the culinary world. It’s a city very committed to its chain restaurants and independents never seemed to last long. That being said, there wasn’t a lot of ethnic food either. Not that any of that matters because my mother doesn’t like spicy food and my parents’ palate for foreign food never extended beyond the buffet line at the westernized Chinese food place. Naturally I grew up thinking I didn’t like so many things that now, I can’t live without. Sushi, pho, real Chinese and curries to name a couple. Imagine my delight when I discovered the deep complex flavors of my first good curry. It was so involved that I can actually remember exactly where I was! I like this recipe because it only has a few easy ingredients. It cooks up quickly and has enough spice to clear your sinuses (use less if that’s what you prefer) but it’s also super healthy and while I suggest serving it over rice for a complete meal, I really prefer just eating it as is.

Coconut Curry Squash (7)

INGREDIENTS
2 small Butternut Squash – Peeled and cubed
1 tsp Curry Powder
1 tsp Chili Powder
1 tsp Turmeric
1 tsp Cayenne Powder
1 tbsp Grapeseed Oil
1 medium Onion – Diced
6 cloves Garlic – Sliced or minced
2 tbsp Ginger – Finely grated
1 15oz can Coconut Milk – Full Fat
3 tbsp Red Curry Paste
3 tbsp Peanut Butter – Creamy, Natural
1/2 tbsp Honey or Agave
1 28oz can Diced Tomatoes

Coconut Curry Squash (5)

METHOD
– Peel, deseed and cube the butternut squash. Put the squash in a medium bowl and add all 4 spices. Toss to coat and set aside.
– In large skillet, heat oil then add onion, garlic and ginger. Sautee until onion is starting to soften. Add coconut milk and bring to a low simmer.
– When coconut milk is hot, add curry paste, peanut butter and honey. Whisk to combine into coconut milk. Add can of tomatoes and spice coated squash.
– Cover skillet and simmer until squash is soft.
– Serve over rice, pasta noodles, quinoa, millet or bulgur. Or eat as it. Bulgur is what is called for in the original recipe.

Coconut Curry Squash (3)

NOTES
– I served mine over gluten free noodles but it would be just as satisfying if eating as is with a side salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 6
Weight Watchers points per serving – 7
Calories – 268.1
Fat – 13.7g
Fibre – 7.5g
Sodium – 487.8mg
Carbohydrates – 30.3g
Protein – 6.4g

Leave a Reply

