Tuna Steak

I know I can’t be the only one that has realized too late into a recipe that the wrong ingredients were used. For exmaple, I once used cinnamon in a Shepherd’s Pie recipe instead of Thyme. I despise cinnamon and was mortified when I realized what I had just poured into my dinner. Of course I didn’t measure it. Of course – that’d be too much like doing it the right way! So today when I decided to make a tasty tuna steak with coconut oil, salt and coriander, it only made sense that I screw it all up and use All Spice instead. I have this wretched habit of buying spices in bulk and neglecting to label the bag. All Spice isn’t all that different than cinnamon. Especially on the hate-o-meter. Too little too late so keeping Shepherd’s Pie in mind, I went ahead with it and it was surprisingly good! So if you’re looking for something incredibly simple – I mean dinner in 10 minutes start to finish – then you should give this a whirl. I’m thinking it might be good on a salad tomorrow! I’ll take some pics next time I make it but in the meantime, I’d love to hear of some kitchen fails that turned into something surprisingly great!

INGREDIENTS
2 thick cut 8 oz Tuna Steaks (I buy Ahi Tuna at Trader Joe’s)
1 tbsp Coconut Oil – Melted
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 tsp Black or White Pepper
1/4 tsp All Spice (OR Coriander!)
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp Lemon Juice

METHOD
– In cast iron skillet, melt a bit of coconut oil to coat the bottom. Get the pan hot hot.
– While pan is heating, baste both sides of the tuna with coconut oil. Combine salt, pepper, all spice or coriander, garlic powder and lemon juice and baste evenly onto both sides of of the fish.
– Sear the tuna in the cast iron pan, 2-3 minutes each side.
– Serve!

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 3
Calories – 93
Fat – 4.2g
Fibre – .2g
Sodium – 311mg
Carbohydrates – 3g
Protein – 12.6g

Leave a Reply

