Sweet Potato Kale Soup

It has only been very very recently that I started liking soup. It was never my favourite growing up and only within the last year or so have I started making and loving soups. And why wouldn’t I? A good soup encompasses everything this blog is about! Health and nutrition, simplicity and good value – and even gluten free now! I’ve discovered that a really good soup can taste sinful without being sinful. Most that I’ve made barely have any calories, let alone fat. This particular soup cost less than $5 to make and provides 4 servings. At $1.25 per serving you can’t afford NOT to make it! Mike wasn’t here for dinner tonight and I’m totally tempted to eat his half of the soup. Maybe I’ll eat it, do the dishes and he’ll never know I even cooked … Hmmm a plan is formulating!

INGREDIENTS
2 Sweet Potatoes (Or Yams) – Medium
1/2 Sweet Onion – Diced
4 cups Vegetable Broth – Low Sodium
1 tsp Cayenne Powder
1/2 tsp Chili Powder **SEE NOTES
3 or 4 Kale leaves – Large – Coursely Chopped
8-10 large leaves Basil – Chopped
Salt & Pepper to taste

METHOD
– Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Wash and slice the ends off your sweet potatoes. Quarter them and spray the exposed flesh with olive oil or cooking spray. Bake until soft, 15-20 minutes depending on their diameter.
-Put the remaining ingredients (except kale) into a medium soup pot. When potatoes are done, remove the skin and add the flesh to the pot. Bring to a boil and lower heat to simmer. Simmer for 10 minutes and using an immersion blender, puree your soup. If you don’t have an immersion blender, carefully pour your soup in a large food processor. I tried this but with the damaged lid of my food processor, I made a hot mess!
– When the soup is pureed, add the bail and kale. Let the heat of the soup wilt the kale.
– Serve!

NOTES
– You can use either yams or sweet potatoes. I actually used yams.
– You can use any spice combination you want. The original recipe called for Chipotle pepper but I didn’t have any. If you want to give it more of a winter/holiday feeling, add a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon!

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 2
Calories – 94.9
Fat – .6g
Fibre – 4g
Sodium – 699.2mg
Carbohydrates – 19.7g
Protein – 2.8g

Leave a Reply

