June’s Fave Five

Holy smokes people, we’re already in the middle of July! I totally neglected to do June’s fave five when I was supposed to (I’m a bad blogger) and before I know it, July’s fave five will be here. Where is the time going? I haven’t posted many new recipes lately. Started a new full time job at the beginning of June and while I’m getting used to it, haven’t felt too inspired to cook. There isn’t anything new on this month’s list so we’ll call them tried and true – but if you haven’t tried them yet, they’re all perfect summer dishes. All quick, refreshing and requiring very little slaving over a hot stove. We didn’t have air conditioning for 3 days at work on the hottest days of this Vancouver summer. It got up to 31 degrees (87 Fahrenheit) in the office and we all struggled between being really cranky and falling asleep at our desks. The body sweat just contributed to the humidity. Anyways, I really didn’t cook those days. Now it’s raining and I’m going to make chicken tacos with a snazzy new enchilada sauce recipe I found. If it’s good, I’ll share. Until then … try these on for summer – Especially the Raw Cashew Cheesecake!

1. Mixed Berry Crisp – Gluten Free
This recipe still tops my favourite healthy desserts list. I was craving it for breakfast the other morning. Woke up to my nasty alarm clock and my third thought (first was how much I hate mornings, second was how much I wanted coffee) was “wouldn’t Mixed Berry Crisp be amazing for breakfast?” A dollop of vanilla yogurt, some brown sugar … sadly, I didn’t have berries, or vanilla yogurt … or even vanilla ice cream. Needless to say, I’m still craving it.

2. Cauliflower Pizza Crust – Gluten Free
I like cauliflower. I like pizza. Could there be a better example of a match made in heaven than a healthy, low calorie, low fat pizza crust made out of cauliflower? I’ve seen the boxes of Kraft Dinner that say the noodles are made from cauliflower and I thought “brilliant!” … but no, they still have wheat flour. Not nearly as exciting. But this will satisfy! Make whatever kind of pizza you want. It’s a win every time!

3. Angel Food Cake with Fresh Strawberry Sauce
Another great summer recipe. When I think summer, I think strawberries. And hot. And on a hot day, the last thing I want is to turn the oven on. A few minutes on the stove and you have some great strawberry sauce to drizzle over an angel food cake that you didn’t have to bake because you bought it from the store – Not that I’ve ever done that …

4. Raw Cashew Cheesecake – Gluten Free
While the other recipes above are good summer treat choices, this recipe coudn’t be more perfect. No oven, no stove, just a freezer. The cake is a smooth, frozen and delicious treat. Best way to cool down on a smokin’ hot summer day. It’s so incredibly easy to make, why would you not make it?!

5. Almond Crusted Dijon Chicken – Gluten Free
Easiest chicken recipe ever. Baste with mustard, roll in almond meal, pan fry or bake. Serve with salad. Done. 5 minute meals rule my world! I don’t have much more to say about this chicken except that the almond gives the chicken a great outer crunch texture and it’s kind of amazing.

Leave a Reply

