May’s Fave 5

May went by really quickly! The last week though has been the longest of my life. I start a new job on Tuesday but I found out last Tuesday so my days have been filled with anxious excitement. Those emotions don’t make time go any faster! Expectations slow everything down. I’m even having a really hard time sleeping. I only partially blame excitement for that though. I mostly blame unemployment and boredom. Thankfully it is the end of the month and I can fill some of my time with the top five posts of May. There are some good ones!

1. Quinoa Burgers
There is this blog that I follow religiously. She is hilarious and covers everything from how to build a chicken coop, what she most recently found in her basement, antique show finds and recipes. Karen at The Art of Doing Stuff is a woman that demands to be followed. You need her in your life. It is because of her blog and her followers that this recipe is at the top of the views list this month. Karen recently posted a recipe for quinoa salad, for those of us that have heard endless stories of the nutritional ass-kick but have no idea what to do with it. Since Mike and I both love this recipe so much, I posted a link to it in the comments section of Karen’s post. I woke up the next morning to 172 pageviews! I’ve been blogging for almost 3 years now and that is the most pageviews in one day EVER. I’m pretty sure that may be the most pageviews in one week even. Her followers are great and numerous! They are the sole reason this recipe skyrocketed to the top of the charts. I should get it a gold plaque for awesomeness.

2. Angel Food Cake with Strawberry Sauce
This recipe is consistently at the top of the pageviews list. As it was with April’s Fave 5 and probably for the month of June too. But that’s not a bad thing! In fact, it’s just in time for summer, when the strawberries are so fresh and ripe and have that beautiful sweet strawberry flavor. That’s certainly the best time to make this. And because it’s so easy to put together, there isn’t a lot of pre-planning involved or the need to spend a lot of time on it. Especially for those last minute potlucks or uninvited guests.

3. Mixed Berry Crisp
Speaking of easy and amazing last-minute recipes – you should try this. It only takes a couple minutes to throw together and I keep a bag of frozen berries in my freezer just for this purpose. It’s sweet, it’s light, it’s gluten free and delicious! I dare you to try and only have one piece. It is healthy enough to be justified as a breakfast, lunch or dessert. Trust me, I can justify anything. Use whatever fruit you have on hand. Fresh, in season fruit is incredible in this dish. Fresh peaches, strawberries, blueberries – your options are endless. I haven’t made it in a while but just typing this out makes me drool a little bit. I had quinoa burgers planned for dinner but I might scrap that and just go for this! Mmm so good!

4. Raw Cashew Cheesecake
There’s a couple really unfortunate things about this recipe. First of all, the ease with which it is made. It’s unfortunate that you only need a food processor, and it’s REALLY unfortunate that it’s a raw, frozen cake and you never have to turn on your oven. Because who doesn’t love baking when it’s 30 degrees celcius outside?
Clearly, I’m being sarcastic. All of those things, combined with the delicious, refreshing texture and taste of this cake, make it a solid winner. I doubled up my first cake because of the size of my spring form pan. It lasted a good two weeks in my freezer before we finally devoured it. A small slice is more than enough to satisfy! Like the Mixed Berry Crisp, it’s totally adaptable to whatever ingredients you want to use. Let your imagination run wild! I’ve been thinking my next one will be mango and coconut with a splash of vanilla, but one with cocoa or slices of fresh fruit on top sound really good too! Endless possibilities.

5. Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower
This is my fall-back recipe for laziness. If I’m tired, if there’s a huge pile of dishes and I can’t get at my stove or sink … or counter, I just pull out the food processor and whip this up. It’s so good and so healthy that you can eat the whole bowl’s worth and not feel bad about it. Not that I’ve ever done that … *ahem*
Play around with the spices you put in and/or the type of cheese! I love a good strong aged white cheddar in this. It compliments the cauliflower flavor perfectly. I also sometimes sprinkle a bit of goat cheese or goat feta on top too. You can’t go wrong with making this a side dish for any meal. It’ll go with everything! It replaces mashed potatoes beautifully (and it’s less work too!) so using it as a replacement at holiday dinners is really not a bad idea. Go ahead, see if they’ll notice.

Those are the top five viewed posts for the month of May. I hope they give you inspiration to try something new! As standard procedure, I’d love to hear about any recipes you try. The more people commenting on the blog the better! I’m going to go spam Karen’s blog with recipe posts now … maybe she’ll make me famous!

One response

  1. I am the world’s most fussy eatter and I really enjoyed the cheesy mashed cauliflower, but I must admit that my favorite is the mixed berry crisp. Almost like gram used to make only a whole lot better for you

Leave a Reply

