Raw Cashew Cheesecake

My head just exploded. It blew up with the possibilities of this amazing cake. The combinations I can make and the places I can take it. Holiday dinners, potlucks, birthday smashes, Wednesdays, baby showers … just don’t take it to the weekly meetup of the NASTies (Nut Allergy Support Taskforce) This cake is justifiably the most healthy dessert out there. It is comprised of all raw, unprocessed ingredients, no dairy, no sugar and virtually all of the calories and fat come from nuts, and dates, and honey and coconut oil. It’s a refreshing dessert as it comes out of the freezer and you never have to turn the oven on. Brilliant for those hot summer days that are coming our way! I had to double this recipe because my springform pan was too big. Shame right?

Original recipe here. You should follow this lady regularly. (After you follow me!) She’s got a lot of great healthy recipes to offer.

INGREDIENTS
Crust
1/2 cup Almonds – Raw, Unsalted
1/2 cup Medjool Dates **SEE NOTES
1/4 tsp Sea Salt

Filling
1 1/2 cups Cashews – Raw, Soaked for at least 8 hours **SEE NOTES
1/3 cup Coconut Oil – Melted
1/2 cup Honey or Agave – Unpasteurized
2 Lemons – Juice of
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 cup Raspberries **SEE NOTES

METHOD
– Add first three ingredients to food processor and chop until a fine but slightly chunky consistency is reached. Roll a small amount between the palms of your hands – if it sticks together, it’s good. If not, throw in a couple more dates.
– Spread the ingredients into the bottom of a 7″ springform pan and firmly press down to form the crust. If you don’t have a springform pan, line an 8×8″ baking pan or a pie plate with saran wrap (so you can lift it out after freezing) then press the crust in. I have an 11″ springform so I just doubled the recipe.
– Rinse out your food processor and combine the rest of the ingredients, excluding the fruit. Blend really well. You should end up with a smooth, thick, cream-like consistency. My food processor couldn’t get it quite that smooth but it was still perfect, so don’t be too concerned about it!
– Scoop out about 2/3 of the mixture and layer it on top of the crust. Add the fruit to the food processor and blend. Add it to the top of your cake, smooth out (a couple good shakes of the pan should help) then put your pan in the freezer for a few hours.
– When you’re ready to serve, remove the springform or lift it from your pie plate. Slice and serve! Heat your knife under hot water if you find it is sticking to the cake.

Raw Cashew Cheesecake4

NOTES
– You can flavor this in whatever method you choose or with whatever you have on hand. Be creative! The original poster suggested a couple heaping tablespoons of raw cocoa or a combo of mango and goji berries. I like the way she rolls.
– If you want to keep this a truly raw treat, ensure you’re using unprocessed ingredients. I used pasteurized honey (it’s cheaper and what I had on hand) and I used roasted, unsalted cashews to avoid the hours of soaking. Because I doubled my recipe, I didn’t have enough cashews for the filling so I did about 1 1/4 cups of almonds to top off. I didn’t find anything wrong with the final product so feel free to mix it up if you want.
– Medjool dates are expensive. I used large pitted dates that weren’t medjool brand. Use what you can find and what you can afford.
– I also used a blend of strawberries, blueberries and peaches instead of raspberries. YUM.

Raw Cashew Cheesecake

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 9
Weight Watchers points per serving – 9
Calories – 322.9
Fat – 22.8g
Fibre – 3.4g
Sodium – 69.2mg
Carbohydrates – 29.3g
Protein – 5.6g

3 responses

  1. I was just thinking about making another one:) I used a mixed berry topping (I think it had pomegranate, blackberry, blueberry and raspberry), it was very good, but next time I think I’ll try something with less seeds. I also had to double the recipe, it was a great treat to keep in the freezer for when I wanted something sweet!

Leave a Reply

