Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

Oh my goodness, I’m in love. I threw some chicken in to marinate this morning and chose this recipe as my side.  I made two new recipes in one day! Yay me. It turned out amazing for a couple reasons. First off, it took exactly 12 minutes to make from start to finish (that’s quicker than the chicken!). Secondly, it uses ingredients that I had on hand and thirdly … and the best reason of all … it’s gooooooood. Really good. Like mashed potatoes without the evil carbohydrates and starches. I’m going to have to start buying cauliflower regularly, I’d be happy to eat this as lunch. Is there something wrong wtih eating an entire cauliflower head to myself?

INGREDIENTS
1 head Cauliflower
2 tbsp Milk or Non-Dairy Alternative
1 tbsp Unsalted Butter or Non-Dairy Alternative
3 oz Cheese or Vegan Alternative
Salt & Pepper

METHOD
– Remove leaves and stems of the cauliflower, breaking it up or cutting it into bite sized pieces. Put in microwavable bowl.
– Add milk and margarine to bowl and microwave for 5 minutes. Give cauliflower a good stir to coat it in milky-margariney mixture. Cook for another 4 minutes.
– In a large food processor, combine cauliflower and cheese until smooth. Salt and pepper to taste and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 3
Calories – 139.4
Fat – 6.4g
Fibre – 3.7g
Sodium – 859.1mg
Carbohydrates – 10.8mg
Protein – 10.3g

One response

  1. I absolutely loved this recipe, we make mashed cauliflower quite often, but I had never added cheese before. I think I will add it every time!

Leave a Reply

