60 Minute Vegan Bread

Phew, I’ve been a baking machine today! For someone who does not bake, that’s pretty damn good. At least I’m putting the KitchenAid Mixer I got for Christmas to excellent use. I made my first Gluten Free loaf this morning and it wasn’t long before I had my dear lactose intolerant and dairy-free friends wondering if it could be done. A Dairy Free AND Gluten Free Bread … that tastes good? Yes. I won’t lie, I wasn’t sure it would work. That could be because of my ‘extensive’ baking experience. But lo and behold it was awesome. I learned some vegan alternative tricks from Sarah Kramer and I utilized those to make this happen. This bread has a great fresh bread texture, has a very subtle hint of banana and is a smidge sweeter than regular breads due to the apple sauce. I’m confident that you’ll love it. And it still takes less than an hour!

INGREDIENTS
1 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
1 cup Tapioca Flour (Tapioca Starch)
1/2 cup Potato Starch
1 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
4 1/2 tsp Dry Active Yeast
1 3/4 tsp Xanthan Gum **SEE NOTES
1/4 cup Hemp Hearts *Optional
2 tbsp Flax Seed – Ground *Optional
1/2 ripe Banana – Mashed
2 tbsp Honey or Agave
2 tbsp Olive Oil
3/4 cup Apple Sauce – Unsweetened
3/4 cup Water – Warm NOT hot

METHOD
– Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking spray
– In medium mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients, including yeast. Whisk together and ensure the ingredients are thoroughly combined
– In bowl of stand up mixer combine all wet ingredients and mix for 2 minutes on low. You can use a hand mixer if you don’t have a stand up. I had to put my wet ingredients through the food processor quickly in order to get the banana combined.
– Slowly incorporate dry ingredients while mixing on a low-medium speed. If the batter seems dry, add 1 tbsp of water and continue until you’ve got the desired consistency
– Once the batter is fully combined, use a spatula and pour it into your pan. Wet your fingers so the dough doesn’t stick and push it down into the pan, making sure you get the air out of the corners. Smooth out the top of the loaf with your hands.
– Put in oven and bake for 50 minutes. Remove from oven, let sit for 10 minutes then flip onto a cooling rack.

NOTES
– You can use 1 3/4 tsp of Guar Gum instead of Xanthan Gum or alternatively, you can use 1 tsp of one and 3/4 tsp of the other.
– I’m going to experiment a lot with this loaf. Cheese, flax seeds, cranberries etc. Yum.
– For fun I added some hemp hearts and some ground flax seed. Because of these two extra ingredients I ended up needing about 3 more tbsp of water.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 10
Weight Watchers points per serving – 5 (Does not include hemp hearts and flax)
Calories – 191
Fat – 3.3g
Fibre – 2g
Sodium – 273.9mg
Carbohydrates – 39.3g
Protein – 2.9g

One response

  1. Thank you for the recipe, it was absolutely delicious! I changed up some of the ingredients, such as 2 bananas instead of apple sauce, no yeast or potato starch, maple syrup instead of honey, sunflower oil instead of olive oil, sunflower seeds instead of flax or hemp… and… I added 1 egg – no longer vegan! But really, it was so good that my daughter and I ate the entire loaf in 2 days. It tasted best french toast style…

Leave a Reply

