Cottage Cheese Bread

I have never made bread in my life. I’ve helped my mom, I’ve used a bread maker, but I’ve never made it by myself, and I’ve certainly never made a gluten free version. Like any regular loaf of bread, there are a LOT of GF recipes out there. I actually judged my recipe by the picture. It had to look fluffy and could not look like a brick. The GF bread I’ve been buying, while fresh, is really nutty and crumbles in your mouth. I love it for toast, it really adds a great something to peanut butter and jelly. My significatn other can’t get over the texture though and I can’t eat a whole loaf by myself so I tried for something different. Luckily there wasn’t a lot of trial and error! The great thing about this bread is that there is no kneading, there is no rising time and it takes about 10 minutes to throw together in the mixer. Are you kidding me? I can’t even eat it that fast. Close … but not quite. There’s also no sugar and very little dairy! Don’t let the Cottage Cheese throw you off though, (try this if you’re vegan!) it makes it moist but does not taste like cottage cheese and does not have the texture of cottage cheese. I promise. My SO loathes Cottage Cheese but had many pleasant things to say and grunt about this bread.

INGREDIENTS
1 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
1 cup Tapioca Flour (Tapioca Starch)
1/2 cup Potato Starch
1 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
4 1/2 tsp Dry Active Yeast
1 3/4 tsp Xanthan Gum **SEE NOTES
1 Egg or 1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer
2 tbsp Honey or Agave
2 tbsp Olive Oil or Margarine
3/4 cup Cottage Cheese – Fat Free
3/4 cup Water – Warm NOT hot

METHOD
– Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking spray
– In medium mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients, including yeast. Whisk together and ensure the ingredients are thoroughly combined
– In bowl of stand up mixer combine all wet ingredients and mix for 2 minutes on low. You can use a hand mixer if you don’t have a stand up.
– Slowly incorporate dry ingredients while mixing on a low-medium speed. If the batter seems dry, add 1 tbsp of water and continue until you’ve got the desired consistency
– Once the batter is fully combined, use a spatula and pour it into your pan. Wet your fingers so the dough doesn’t stick and push it down into the pan, making sure you get the air out of the corners. Smooth out the top of the loaf with your hands.
– Put in oven and bake for 50 minutes. Remove from oven, let sit for 10 minutes then flip onto a cooling rack.

NOTES
– You can use 1 3/4 tsp of Guar Gum instead of Xanthan or alternatively, you can use 1 tsp of one and 3/4 tsp of the other.
– I’m going to experiment a lot with this loaf. Cheese, flax seeds, cranberries etc. Yum.
– I used 7/8 cup of Brown Rice Flour and 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp of Quinoa Flour. The original recipe called for White Rice Flour and Brown Rice Flour but I used what I had on hand. To make it the easiest for you, I’ve listed only Brown Rice Flour.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 10 – Yields 1 loaf
Weight Watchers points per serving – 5 per slice
Calories – 189.4
Fat – 2.3g
Fibre – 1.4g
Sodium – 353.7mg
Carbohydrates – 36.4g
Protein – 5.7g

Leave a Reply

