Crash Hot Yams/Sweet Potatoes

My adult taste buds love yams. Not so much as a kid. I was really good at despising them. Every time I ate them I felt like my throat closed off and refused to swallow them. But my adult self has realized that you can do so many things with yams. You can even use them in brownies! I think the yams of my childhood just needed a little spicing up. Sometimes I buy yams and then forget/neglect to use them and they get a bit woody. This is the perfect recipe for aged yams. We started a gluten-free diet lifestyle a few days ago and while we’re experiencing the same challenges as any diet, I think we are doing good. My biggest challenge so far is my significant other. He turns into a big child at the grocery store when we’re reading ingredients on packages. “We might as well just go to the produce section because we can’t eat anything else” (Can I get some pity please!) I haven’t had too many problems cooking dinner so far because I use mostly fresh ingredients – lunch is the challenge. I feel like we need leftovers to make it through! These yams are excellent for that. They’re amazing hot but they’re really tasty cold too! Anyways, allow me to digress while you run off to the kitchen and make them.

INGREDIENTS
2 medium Yams (Or sweet potatoes)
2 tbsp Olive Oil
2 tbsp Butter or Non-Dairy Alternative
1 1/2 tbsp Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt (Or sea salt)
1/2 tsp Cumin
1/2 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Cayenne Powder
1/4 tsp Onion Powder
1/8 tsp Garlic Granules
10 or so grinds of Black Pepper

METHOD
– Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with tinfoil
– Put a medium pot of water on to boil with 1 tsp of salt. Cut the ends off the yams and peel. Slice into 1.5 inch pieces.
– When the water boils, add the potatoes and set your timer for 12 minutes. While those are boiling, set up your spices. Ensure the spices are well combined.
– Remove potatoes to a wire rack and let them cool for 10 minutes. Using a flat bottomed instrument of any sort (bowls work well) squish each slice of yam. Don’t squish it so much that it falls apart, just until the edges break.
– Melt the butter and combine it with the oil. Baste it onto each slice of yam and coat with the spices. Gently flip them and repeat on the other side.
– Bake for 20 minutes, flipping them gently 10 minutes through.
– Serve

NOTES
– I only coat one side with spices. Baste both sides with oil but only put spices on one side. Bake for 15-20 minutes. I only do this because I’m lazy.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 7
Calories – 251.5
Fat – 10g
Fibre – .3g
Sodium – 369.2mg
Carbohydrates – 42.2g
Protein – 3g

Leave a Reply

