Coconut Stir Fry and Rice

I haven’t been too inspired lately. My boyfriend is out of town during the week for the next while and work has kept me totally exhausted for a couple weeks now. Nobody to cook for and tired makes me lazy! That also means I’ve been eating like utter crap lately. I forced myself to make some veggies tonight and this recipe is what I came up with. It’s sweet and savory, filling and healthy. All that and I whipped it up in under 10 minutes (aside from actual cooking time) Since this recipe is ‘invented’ (I use the term loosely) by me, I’d love to know what you think.

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 cups Sushi Rice (dry)
1 can Coconut Milk – Light
1 tbsp Vegetable Oil
1/2 Yellow Onion – Chopped
1 Shallot – Finely Chopped
1/2 Red Pepper – Sliced and roughly chopped
1/2 Green Pepper – Sliced and roughly chopped
2 White Button Mushrooms – Halved and sliced
3 Chicken Breasts – Boneless skinless, sliced
1 tbsp Coconut – Shredded and sweetened
Marjoram
Freshly Cracked Pepper

METHOD
– Put rice on to cook using whatever method you prefer. I use the microwave … no chance of burning the rice! And I’m lazy
– Heat oil in large skillet and cook onions and shallot until starting to soften, 3-5 minutes. Add red pepper, green pepper and mushrooms. Salt and cook another two minutes.
– Add coconut milk, bring to a simmer and then add sliced chicken. Simmer until chicken is cooked through. Add remaining spices and coconut and stir thoroughly. Turn heat off of skillet and add rice. Allow it to sit for 5 or so minutes to allow the rice to absorb the coconut milk.
– Serve!

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 10
Calories – 412.3
Fat – 14.6g
Fibre – 1.4g
Sodium – 123mg
Carbohydrates – 19.3g
Protein – 46.6

Leave a Reply

