5 Spices I always have on hand

There are certain spices I always keep on hand. Some I use (or will use) in almost any dish. Changing up the spices you use will give new life to your meals. A lot of the time the spices can make otherwise bland food taste awesome. Parmesan Crusted Fish for example. The original recipe had zero flavor. It tasted like breadcrumbs but I added some Marjoram and Black Pepper to it and it’s amazing! So without further ado I’d like to introduce you the five ingredients that spice up my life.

1. Marjoram – The Marjoram plant is the same genus as Oregano. I find it a bit sweeter with less of the Oregano tang and thus I use it more often. It is also more expensive but I think it’s totally worth it.

2. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes – Easiest way to spice up any dish. Soup, fish, lasagna, scrambled eggs … anything!

3. Paprika – Sweet paprika, smoked paprika, hungarian paprika. It’s all subtle but always adds a little something. I even put it in stir fries.

4. Cumin – Also great in stir fries and soups. It has a very distinct flavor so a little bit can go a really long way.

5. White Pepper – As opposed to black pepper, this variation is a lot stronger. Less is more with this baby!

So, those are my faves. I also use a lot of sea salt, oregano, basil, turmeric and garlic. I use a ton of garlic cloves but in lieu of that, I’ll happily use garlic powder.

I’d love to know what your favorites are! Maybe there’s something I’m missing out on.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

