Ass Backwards Butternut Squash Ravioli

I don’t know what to tell you to have you believe that this is one of the best pasta dishes I’ve ever had. If someone gave me this squashy filling inside ravioli than I may very well have thought I’d died and gone to pasta heaven. But since it’s outside of ravioli … and actually nowhere near ravioli … then I know that I’ve gone to heaven. It’s delicious, filling and so satisfying. I say that in every post, I know, but trust me friends, this dish will impress even the die-hard squash haters. And … (like you don’t know this is coming!) … IT’S EASY! Prove me wrong, I dare you.

Adapted from original recipe here

INGREDIENTS
10-15 oz Butternut Squash **SEE NOTES
1 tbsp Butter or Non-Dairy Alternative
3 cloves Garlic – Minced
Pinch Cayenne Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1 cup Milk or Non-Dairy Alternative
2 tbsp Cream **SEE NOTES
5-6 oz Pasta – Gluten Free or Wheat
2 tbsp Parmesan – Grated *Optional
Freshly Ground Black Pepper

METHOD
– Peel and deseed squash. Cut into small cubes while leaving your fingers intact.
– Put an inch of so or water into the bottom of a steam pot, place the butternut squash in the steamer on medium high heat, allowing  to steam until fork tender. You may have to do two batches depending on your pot size.
– Remove squash from steam pot and in a large bowl, mash it with a fork or put it in the food processor – depends on how smooth you want your sauce.
– Start boiling water for pasta.
– Melt margarine in large skillet on low heat. Add garlic and cook until brown. Add cayenne, salt and nutmeg, stir then add milk and cream. Combine and add squash. Whisk until fully combined and if your mixture is liquidy, turn up the heat a bit and simmer off most of the excess moisture.
– Serve over top of your favorite gluten free pasta noodles, top with grated parmesan and black pepper.

NOTES
– Use your favorite winter squash. It doesn’t have to be butternut. The original recipe called for 18 oz. and says it serves 2. I used about 14 oz and got more than enough sauce for 5 large servings. Seriously.
– It calls for cream, I used 2 tbsp of homogenized milk because that’s what I had on hand. Quite frankly that seemed to be enough. You could probably even use skim if that’s all you have.
– I also added extra lean ground turkey to the sauce. It was tasty but would have been just as good and just as filling if left out. The nutritional info does not include the turkey.

NUTRITIONAL INFO
Serves 4
Weight Watchers points per serving – 6
Calories – 213
Fat – 2.3g
Fibre – 4.1g
Sodium – 351.8mg
Carbohydrates – 43.6g
Protein – 6.5g

Leave a Reply

